Fail Mail Friday for 3 June 2011


Welcome to the our next installment of Fail Mail Friday. This is where we showcase a kill mail that we pirates would call a “failure”.

This one comes to us from Jacabon Mere. Here is the link to the kill mail and below is a copy of the fitting that you can use with EFT.

http://echo.eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=9300462

[Cyclone, Aliosn’s Cyclone]
Medium Armor Repairer I
1600mm Reinforced Crystalline Carbonide Plates I
Ballistic Control System II
Expanded Cargohold II

Medium Shield Booster I
10MN Afterburner I
Small Hull Repairer I
Target Painter I

200mm AutoCannon I,EMP S
200mm AutoCannon I,EMP S
250mm Light Artillery Cannon I,EMP S
125mm Railgun I,Iron Charge S
Heavy Missile Launcher I,Havoc Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I,Havoc Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I,Havoc Heavy Missile
Salvager I

[empty rig slot]

So, what do we have here? Well, upon first glance, I’d say that we have someone who was looking to add to the Minmatar race a EVE version of the Swiss Army Knife. While this concept is beautifully executed by the Swiss, the same principle simply does not work in EVE Online.

Yet again we have the fatal mistake of trying to do too much on one ship. Yes, I can see the thinking of this ratting or mission ship, but let us review. NEVER FIT LOCAL HULL, ARMOR AND SHIELD REPAIR MODULES ON THE SAME SHIP, EVER!

Why you may ask? Well, if you do, you will loose a battlecruiser like this to people like Zaronache flying a tech one frigate, that’s why! Please, don’t stack the odds in you having a bad day against you before you undock, okay?

As for the weapons on this ship, it appears that confusion was not limited to tanking. There is nothing wrong with having ammo for different damage types, but try to at least have some consistency in the weapons you fit and try to use weapons that take advantage of any bonuses the ship may offer.

So, congratulations to Jacabon Mere for our Fail Mail Friday submission. As being the selected for this week’s fail mail, Jacabon Mere will receive a whopping 35, 000 ISK for the Medium Armor Repairer I module that was fitted on this mail.

Have a fail mail that you would like to submit? You can send me an in game email to Ga’len with Fail Mail in the subject line, the fail mail killboard link and why you feel your submission is worthy of being a fail mail. You can also contact me on Twitter @Galen_Druid or send me an old fashioned email to Galen@eve-druid.com and again, use Fail Mail in the subject line and in the message the fail mail killboard link, your in game name for the ISK prize and why you feel your submission is worthy of being a fail mail.

Until next time, have fun and see you out there!

More of Fail Mail Friday

~ by J. Riley Castine on June 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
