So, it's not really you?

For those of you who have been following the Tweetfleet conversation on Twitter, yes, this is the post I said would explain what was going on and the reason for my cryptic questions.

It happens all the time in the real world. News media misquote people or take words out of context to make a point.

Bloggers write posts to express themselves and their opinions. They comment on other people’s blogs to engage in discussions on a particular topic and often, state a position on that particular topic.

So, what do these two thoughts have to do with one another? Well, follow this link and then you will have some information to understand what I am talking about.

http://www.evenews24.com/2010/11/04/gm-helps-player-to-get-ships-back/comment-page-1/#comment-5598

If you followed the link, it brings you to a comment on a story posted on EVENews24. The story is not the issue however the comment is a problem.

I didn’t post the comment on this website.

Shouldn’t be a big deal, right? You simply contact the website owner and ask that the false comment be removed.

That was two days and multiple emails ago. I have yet to receive a response from anyone at EVENews24.

We bloggers spend a lot of time and effort in developing our presence online. We write posts, comment on others posts and share our thoughts and ideals.

We work hard and to have someone try to put words in your mouth is just plain wrong. It misrepresents us and misrepresents our position on a particular issue.

I don’t take kindly to someone “speaking” in my voice. I really don’t appreciate it when I am contacted by people wanting to know why I thought this way on this topic and I have to explain that I did not make the comment. Such things can call into question ones integrity.

For the record, I NEVER made this comment on this post and the comment does NOT reflect my position on this particular story.

I am really disappointed in my fellow blogger here. I would have thought that a simple email to correct this issue would have been enough. I never thought I would have to write a post like this.

My experience with this website leaves me with a lingering question. How many other comments on this website are fabrications and were not really made by those who claim to have made them? Makes one wonder if there is an attempt to drive public opinion going on.

Thoughts?

~ by J. Riley Castine on November 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
