Loki, the mischievous god

Well, I don’t know about you, but I am tired of the drama on the EVE forums. CCP has really created a PR disaster for itself and they will have a lot of work to do to regain the trust of the community. For now, I will continue to play and write, but unless something world shattering comes out of all of this drama, I think I am done from a commentary perspective.

So,onto more interesting things. Recently I have engaged in a certain amount of personal fail, strategic cruisers. I took some of my hard earned isk, bought the skill books, hulls, subsystems and modules to they out fits for a Proteus and a Loki.

How did it go? Well, I lost the Proteus to my stupidity and impulsiveness in engaging a neutral raven on a gate. Lost the Loki to an obvious bait trap in a top belt of a low sec system. I was more impressed with the Loki in how well it lasted before succumbing to it’s doom. All I will say is it did die “because of Falcon”. 😛

So, what did I learn? Well, I learned that it’s a good thing I bought two of everything to replace any losses. I also learned that for how I want to be able to fly the ship, the Loki fits me better. After a lot of experimentation and consulting some very sharp alliance mates, I have the fit that I want to use.

[Loki, Ga’len Loki]
Damage Control II
Tracking Enhancer II
Gyrostabilizer II
Gyrostabilizer II

10MN MicroWarpdrive II
Republic Fleet Warp Disruptor
Domination Stasis Webifier
Invulnerability Field II
Large Shield Extender II

220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
Medium Energy Neutralizer II
Covert Ops Cloaking Device II

Medium Anti-Kinetic Screen Reinforcer II
Medium Projectile Ambit Extension II
Medium Projectile Ambit Extension II

Loki Defensive – Adaptive Shielding
Loki Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reservoir
Loki Electronics – Tactical Targeting Network
Loki Offensive – Covert Reconfiguration
Loki Propulsion – Chassis Optimization

Yes, it’s a very expensive vagabond and being a T3 ship with covert ops cloak ability, it is gimped for dps, but the tank more than makes up for it.

Will this become my main ship that I fly? No, it won’t be. It will be that shiny expensive ship that I will take out every now and again. Strategic cruisers, for this solo roamed, are just too expensive and not really worth the money in the long run, at least as I see it.

What do you think? Do you think I should look at other options, perhaps the Tengu or the Legion? What changes would you do to the fit I am using?

~ by J. Riley Castine on August 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
