Words, words, words…

Welcome to the fourteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

The first banter of 2010 comes to us from the EVE Blog Father, in which I ask the following: As we begin another year in New Eden, ask yourselves “What Now?” What will I attempt next? What haven’t I done so far in EVE? Was it out fear, funds, or knowledge? Have I always wanted to start my own corporation, but have never dared doing so? Is there a fledging mercenary waiting to come out of its shell? Or maybe an Industrialist? What steps and objectives will I set myself to accomplish in order to reach my ultimate goal for this year? EVE is what you make of it. So, what is it going to be for you?

Words offer the means to meaning, and for those who will listen, the enunciation of truth.

V in V for Vendatta

Words.  What are words?  Words are the collection of letters to create a coherent form within a language.  Those forms are usually collected together to form a sentence and sentences are used to convey a thought or concept from the writer to the reader.

Words are very powerful.  Once you have said or written a word that is shared with another person, that power transfers from the creator to the listener.  Words are indeed a very powerful tool and as human beings, we have the power to change our individual worlds with the simple use of words and language.  We have the power to convey thoughts, emotions, concepts and ultimately truth through the use of words.

In EVE online, many words have different meanings for people.  In years past, the words, “Vagabond on the gate”, would have filled me with fear and the truth that I was about to loose my Ishkur.  Now that I can fly a Vagabond with proper fittings, I know that other people are saying the words, “Vagabond on the gate”, and I am not filled with fear but with confidence.

“Nullsec” was a word that used to convey an image of utter danger from whence no one can escape”, now it means “home” to me.

So, what will I attempt in 2010?

I will continue to see the meaning of words.

I will continue to write about EVE Online.

I will look forward to the day when the word “Dominion” does not mean “nullsec lag storms from 2005” or “Gabe should stop playing with hamsters and fix the frakking game breaking lag”.

I will see words like “Motherships are finally fixed” and “Incarna is now live!” and be filled with joy.

I will see words continue to be written by my fellow bloggers.  I will see fantastic fiction and wonderful opinion and  perspectives on game play flow forth on every page for everyone to enjoy.  I will see truth behind words people say and write and understand it’s meaning.

See you out there!

For more of the written word about EVE that is truly worthy of reading from Blog Banter 14, see the many other posts listed below:

List of Participants:

  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing – A beginning is a very delicate time…
  2. My God It’s Full of Stars – What Now?
  3. The Elitist – Plans for 112yc
  4. Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money
  5. Ecliptic Rift – Enabling the future
  6. Inanity and Doom – New Year’s Resolutions, New Eden Style
  7. Break Vol – Blog Banter #14
  8. Guns Ablaze – What Now?
  9. Adventures in Mission Running – The Way Forward
  10. Diary of a Pod Pilot – Things I want to do
  11. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah – The Year That Will Be
  12. Roc’s Ramblings – WordPress ate my blog
  13. Vive Virtual – Frontier Living
  14. A Mule in EVE – Next on the chopping block
  15. Prano’s Journey – I Peer Into My Crystal Pod…
  16. Life in Low Sec – Expanding the Franchise
  17. The Light of Stars – Testing the claims of CCP
  18. A Memoir From Space – A New Direction
  19. The Chronofile – Blog Banter 2010
  20. FlashFresh – What now for Flash?
  21. EVE Opportunist – Fyreite in 112
  22. Mike Azariah – Jiorj
  23. Yarrbear Tales – Year in Review
  24. The Independant Analyst – The Year Ahead
  25. The Travels of Black Claw – Where ma I going?
  26. Warp Scrammed – What to do this year
  27. Sered’s Lives – Searching for directions in 2010
  28. Finders & Keepers – New Tears, Same Great Taste
  29. The Captain’s Log – To Dream of the Future
  30. The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions
  31. The Midnight Sun – EVE Blog Banter #14
  32. More to come!

~ by J. Riley Castine on January 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
